The only disability in life is a bad attitude. ~Scott Hamilton

I accepted a call booking for a taxi near Yio Chu Kang area. Upon my arrival, I saw a man in his early forties, standing beside my taxi with the aid of a pair of crutches. I immediately got out of the taxi to help the man, who seemed to be having some mobility impairment. The Chinese man, who looked plump, politely refused my help, and before I knew it, he had already boarded my taxi.

In the taxi, I chatted with this guy and realised that he was a part-time lecturer and was on his way to the town area to conduct his lectures. He showed me his left leg, which was amputated above the knee and fitted with a prosthetic leg. He was infected with flesh-eating bacteria in a toilet when his foot with a small wound came into contact with some sewage water. Initially he fell sick with a fever and pain, after which he consulted a doctor, who prescribed some painkillers for him. Unfortunately his condition deteriorated so fast that he fell into a coma while he was sent to the hospital. Unfortunately, the doctors have to amputate his left leg to save his life.

What I find remarkable about this man is the positive attitude displayed when I was talking to this man, he somehow manages to keep smiling in the face of adversity. I can’t find a tinge of self-pity or sadness in him. He showed full of enthusiasm talking about his work, his students and his blessings towards life.

To quote what Hubert Humphrey have said: Oh, my friend, it’s not what they take away from you that counts.  It’s what you do with what you have left.

Leave a Reply

